Our teaching and learning program at The Basin Primary School aims to recognise and develop every child’s individual strengths and learning needs. There is a strong emphasis on the teaching of English and Mathematics as the foundation for all other learning. Daily learning blocks are designed around the individual needs of students, providing extension and support as appropriate. Developing the whole child is central to the learning program at The Basin Primary School. Students are provided with opportunities to explore the world around them through our Challenge Based Learning investigations. Students conduct research and meet set challenges by participating in real life learning tasks that help them to better understand and appreciate their world. The development of research, communication, thinking and interpersonal skills are all essential components of CBL, ensuring that our students are developing the broad range of skills they will require for their future.

The classroom learning program is supported by specialist programs in Physical & Sport Education, Music and Performing Arts, Visual Arts, German, Science and Digital Technologies. Classroom teachers take students to the Library and the use of iPads and laptops is incorporated into our weekly classroom programs.

The Victorian Curriculum
The Victorian Curriculum F–10 sets out what every student should learn during their first eleven years of schooling. The curriculum is the common set of knowledge and skills required by students for life-long learning, social development and active and informed citizenship.  The Victorian Curriculum F–10 incorporates the Australian Curriculum and reflects Victorian priorities and standards.

Curriculum Design & Learning areas and Capabilities
The Victorian Curriculum F–10 includes eight learning areas and four capabilities. The learning areas of the Arts, Humanities and Technologies include distinct disciplines. The capabilities represent sets of knowledge and skills that are developed and applied across the curriculum. 

Standards and levels
The Victorian Curriculum F–10 is structured as a continuum across levels of learning achievement not years of schooling. This enables the development of targeted learning programs for all students, where the curriculum is used to plan in relation to the actual learning level of each student rather than their assumed level of learning based on age.

Each curriculum area includes content descriptions explaining what is to be taught and achievement standards describing what students are able to understand and do. The achievement standards are provided in 11 levels for English and Mathematics or in five or six bands for all the other learning areas and capabilities.

Cross-curriculum Priorities
Learning about the cross-curriculum priorities of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander histories and cultures, Asia and Australia’s engagement with Asia, and Sustainability is embedded in the curriculum areas of the Victorian Curriculum F–10. These priorities provide national, regional and global dimensions and give students the knowledge and skills to engage with and better understand their world.

Diversity of Learners
The Victorian Curriculum F–10 has been developed to ensure that curriculum content and achievement standards enable continuous learning for all students, including:

  • Students with disabilities and additional learning needs
  • English as an additional language
  • Gifted and talented students.